2023 Election: APC Clears 22 Out Of 26 Seats In Ondo Assembly

Share this news to your friends

…Four Incumbent Members Lost Re-election Bids

…Three Female Lawmakers From Idanre, Owo & Ilaje Will Be Part Of The 10th Ondo Assembly

Agency Report

The ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the majority of seats in the Ondo State House Of Assembly.

In the results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for the state assembly elections on Sunday, the APC won 22 of the 26 constituencies, while the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) won the remaining four seats.

Ondo is one of the eight states where governorship election did not hold on Saturday. The incumbent Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu, SAN, CON, is expected to complete his second term in office in 2025.

The state assembly elections took place across 3,933 polling units and 203 wards.

Four incumbent members lost their re-election bids. The lawmakers are PDP’s Tomide Akinribido (Ondo West 2), African Democratic Congress (ADC) candidate Favour Tomomewo (Ilaje 2), APC’s Taofeeq Muhammed (Akoko Northwest 2) and Toluwani Borokini of the APC (Akure South 1).

Three female lawmakers will be part of the 10th Ondo Assembly as female APC candidates won in Owo 1, Idanre and Ilaje 2 constituencies.

A total of 208 candidates from 19 political parties contested the state assembly elections.

(Precision NG)

Share this news to your friends
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x