Update: Nasarawa Assembly Suspends LG boss, Deputy For Insubordination 

Share this news to your friends

Daily Metro News NG

The Nasarawa State House of Assembly has suspended the Executive Chairman of Nasarawa LGA, Alhaji Mohammed Sani Ottos and the Deputy Chairman of Karu LGA, Lawal Yakubu Karshi over insubordination.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Ibrahim Balarabe Abdullahi announced this at the plenary on Monday after the House Committee on Local Government Chairman, Barrister Mohammed Alkali moved a motion on the insubordination activities of the affected council officials during the House emergency sitting in Lafia Monday morning.

The Speaker said for the chairman of Nasarawa LGA and Deputy Chairman, Karu Local government area abandoned their official duties to attend court case of the former Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Alhaji Aliyu Tijani Ahmed, the committee see this act as disservice and act of insubordination.

“The Chairman of Nasarawa Local Government Area is hereby suspended pending the investigation on his act of insubordination.

“The Deputy Chairman of Nasarawa Local Government is hereby directed to take over the affairs of the council in an acting capacity with immediate effect.

“The Deputy Chairman, Karu Local Government Area should also proceed on suspension

The Speaker added, “The Commissioner of Police is hereby directed to provide adequate security cover to the acting Chairman of Nasarawa Local government Area as long as the investigation lasts.”

The Speaker expressed dismay on how the Nasarawa Council boss abandoned his people on the eve of an election to attend court case that does not concern government instead of being on ground to assist security agents in ensuring peaceful Nasarawa Central constituency bye election.

The Speaker said, “The Chairman is paying more allegiance to the former SSG than this institution and the government, which is uncalled for.

The motion for the suspension of the chairman was moved by Hon Mohammed Alkali and seconded by Hon Daniel Ogazi.

The Speaker also set up a seven man investigation committee to investigate the two affected council officials.

He said, “Members of the committee are Dr. Peter Akwe to serve as Chairman of the committee, Barrister Mohammed Alkali is the Deputy Chairman of the committee while other members of the committee are Hon Mohammed Omadefu, Hon Mohammed Agah Muluku, Hon Aliyu Dogara, Hon Danladi Jatau while the Deputy Clerk of the House Ibrahim Musa is the Secretary of the Committee.”

The Speaker gave the investigation committee three months to investigate and submit its report.

Share this news to your friends
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x