Ondo LG Poll: APC Clears All Ondo Council Seat

Share this news to your friends

By Deji Adebayo, Akure

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winners of all the 18 local government chairmanship seats in Ondo State.

APC also won 194 Councillorship seats out of 198 seats that was contested.

Results in four wards across the state were declared inconclusive.

In all, seven political parties participated in the exercise on Saturday.

Announcing the election results on Sunday, the Chairman of Ondo Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC), Prof. Yomi Dinakin said there was no contest in five local governments.

Dinakin, who declared APC candidates winner of the elections in the 5 local governments that was not contested said it was in line with the electoral act.

He added that he actions were within the electoral law which stated that where there are no contests, any candidate validly nominated should be declared winner.

He listed the 5 local governments where elections did not hold to include Akoko North East where Mr. Omojola Asimiyu emerged; Ose LG Dennis Adekunle; Ifedore LG Alex Akinyemi Oladimeji; Odigbo LGA Akinsurojo Margret and Irele LG Segun Ajimatokin.

While in the local government areas where elections were held, Dinakin declared candidates of the All Progressives Congress, APC, winners and returned elected.

Ondo state governor, Arakunrin Rotimi Akeredolu, SAN, has already set tomorrow Monday for the inauguration of the council Chairmen and Councillors.

By Monday, August 24th, Local Government Areas in Ondo State will have constitutionally and democratically elected executive and legislative officers after over three years.

Share this news to your friends
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x