Update: Nasarawa Central Constituency Bye-Election, APC Poll 7,475 To Defeat PDP

Share this news to your friends

Daily Metro News NG

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Ismail Danbaba, has won the Saturday bye-election for the Nasarawa Central State Constituency in the state House of Assembly.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer, Mr Iiyasu Umar, announced the result of the bye-election conducted on Saturday in Nasarawa.

Mr Umar said while announcing the result that the APC candidate scored 7,475 to defeat his closest rival party, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who got 4,608 votes.

He said the bye-election got 12,217 votes cast, where 12,083 valid votes were recorded while 134 votes were rejected.

He declared, “By the power conferred on me as the Returning Officer of this election, I hereby declared the APC candidate the winner, having scored the highest number of votes cast.’’

INEC scheduled the Nasarawa Central bye-election following the death of the member representing Nasarawa Central constituency at the state House of Assembly, Alhaji Suleiman Adamu, on April 30.


Share this news to your friends
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x